University Committee of Academic Review (UCAR)

The University Committee of Academic Review (UCAR) oversees the academic program review process. UCAR is a permanent, standing university committee appointed by the President. Recommendations for membership are solicited from a variety of sources, including Academic Deans and the Executive Board of the Academic Senate. Each year, the Provost appoints one member of the committee to serve as chair.

UCAR consists roughly of 10-12 members, including faculty and ex-officio members, and will:

  1. Provide oversight for each academic program review by reading and discussing the review documents and assessing the report of the Review Committee. Any critiques arising from the review are incorporated in the UCAR chair’s memorandum that accompanies the transmittal of the report to the Provost.

  2. Advise the Provost on any modifications to the Academic Program Review process that may prove necessary. Receive reports of other forms of program evaluation at USC, including professional accreditation visits, undergraduate program reviews, and online graduate program reviews, and advise the Provost to the outcomes.

Committee Members

Ruth Wood (Chair)
Keck School of Medicine

Kenneth Ahern
Marshall School of Business
Will Berelson
Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences
Christian Robert Grose
Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences
Sarah Gualtieri
Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences
Malancha Gupta
Viterbi School of Engineering
GJ Halfond
Viterbi School of Engineering
Aniko Imre
School of Cinematic Arts
Anna Journey
Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences
Amy Murphy
School of Architecture
Chris Sampson
Thornton School of Music
Steven Siegel
Keck School of Medicine
Dorian Traube
Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work
Anna Wu
Keck School of Medicine
Julie Zissimopoulos
Sol Price School of Public Policy
Elizabeth Graddy (Ex-Officio)
Executive Vice Provost

Last updated September 2021