Academic and Faculty Affairs Staff


ACADEMIC AND FACULTY AFFAIRS

John G. Matsusaka
Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
(213) 740‑6715
vpafa@usc.edu

Brigid Balcom
Assistant Vice Provost
(213) 821-4546
balcom@usc.edu

Janette Brown
Assistant Vice Provost for Emeriti Center
(213) 740‑7121
jcbrown@usc.edu

Dan Carino
Senior Manager for Postdoctoral Affairs
(213) 740-5485
dcarino@usc.edu

Debora Chan-Southwell
Manager of Policies and Procedures
(213) 740‑6725
debora.southwell@usc.edu

Donna Garcia
Associate Director for Academic Affairs
(213) 740‑9584 | dlgarcia@usc.edu

Donna Garcia manages the Academic Program Review process, serves as a point of the contact for Online Programs, and the Faculty Application Manager.

Leana Golubchik
WISE Director and Professor
(213) 740‑4524 | leana@cs.usc.edu

Leana is the director of the Women in Science and Engineering Program and Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering-Systems in the Viterbi School of Engineering.

David Haugland
Associate Vice Provost
(213) 740‑2545
haugland@usc.edu

Dana Irwin
Manager for Tenure and Promotion
(213) 740‑6715
danairwi@usc.edu

Deborah Jones
Faculty Retirement Navigator
(213) 740‑7641
jonesdeb@usc.edu

Jacob Kroeze
Program Analyst III
(213) 740‑3487 | jkroeze@usc.edu

Jacob coordinates and programs data flow, data transformation for a research database, and changes to the Faculty Application Manager.

Jacob Laux
Administrative Assistant II
(213) 740‑6715
laux@usc.edu

Mallory Redel | Program Administrator
(213) 740‑0996 | redel@usc.edu
Mallory manages program development, disbursement of fellowships and grants, coordination of committees, and the day-to-day administrative operations of the Women in Science and Engineering Program.

Robin Romans | Associate Vice Provost
(213) 740‑2101 | rromans@usc.edu

Robin oversees the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs, the International Artist Fellowship, Visions & Voices, and the Progressive Degree programs.  Manages strategic planning, represents the Provost on the University Committee on Curriculum, and serves as USC’s accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO).

Heather Rosoff
Director, Data and Policy Analysis
(213) 740‑4343
rosoff@usc.edu

Omar Villa | Special Events Program Coordinator
(213) 740‑9563 | ovilla@usc.edu

Omar plans and directs special events and programs for the Office of the Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs. He also provides support to the Provost Office, Emeriti Center, Undergraduate Programs, Graduate School, Society of Fellows, and selected university-wide committees.


UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAMS

Andrea Hodge
Vice Provost for Undergraduate Programs
(213) 740‑4225
ahodge@usc.edu

Trista Beard | Associate Director
(213) 740‑1743 | tbeard@usc.edu

Trista’s primary responsibilities include overseeing the Norman Topping Student Aid Fund (NTSAF) Exceptional Funding Program, implementation of retention programs for the Fund, and offering comprehensive academic advising and holistic support of first-generation college students.

Juliana Calhoun | Assistant Director/Learning Specialist
(213) 740‑7177 | jrcalhou@usc.edu

As the Assistant Director/Learning Specialist in the Kortschak Center For Learning and Creativity, I assist students whom learn differently in discovering how best they individually learn, stay motivated, and can self-regulate in areas such as study skills, time management, organization and more.

Katie Capra | Associate Director for Undergraduate Programs
(213) 740‑9116 | kcalvert@usc.edu

Katie, along with her colleagues in AHF, helps to educate the USC community about university awards and competitive fellowships. Her primary role is to mentor high-achieving, motivated students and recent alumni in their pursuit of these opportunities.

Willa Erickson
Program Coordinator
(213) 740-1741
werickso@usc.edu
Renata Figueroa
Academic Advisor I
(213) 740‑9757
renatafi@usc.edu

David Glasgow
Assistant Vice Provost
(213) 740‑6146
dglasgow@usc.edu

Jeanne Herman
Lead Academic Advisor
(213) 740‑5489
jaherman@usc.edu

Anique James
Lead Academic Advisor
(213) 740-1741
aniqueja@usc.edu

Julie Loppacher
Director of Kortschak Center for Learning and Creativity
(213) 740-7884
loppache@usc.edu

Andy Liang | Assitant Director for Undergraduate Programs
(213) 740-9116 | eliang@usc.edu

Andy helps to educate the USC community about university awards and competitive fellowships. He advises merit scholarship students, including Mork, Stamps, Trustee and Presidential scholars, and oversees the Trojan Scholars Society student organization.

Erica Lovano McCann | Director of Academic Honors and Fellowships
(213) 740‑6680 | lovano@usc.edu

Erica, along with her colleagues in AHF, helps to educate the USC community about university awards and competitive fellowships. Her primary role is to mentor high-achieving, motivated students and recent alumni in their pursuit of these opportunities.

Rashelle Nagata
Student Programs Advisor I
(213) 740‑0443
rwnagata@usc.edu

Althea Myrie
Administrative Services Manager
(213) 740‑1367
myrie@usc.edu

Patricia Tobey
Research Director
(213) 740‑7884
tobey@usc.edu

Anthony Tritto
Student Services Advisor II
(213) 740‑8671
artritto@usc.edu

Janice Schafrik
Clinical Staff Psychologist
(213) 740‑0776
schafrik@usc.edu


GRADUATE PROGRAMS

Sally Pratt
Vice Provost for Graduate Programs
(213) 740‑8867
pratt@usc.edu

Ashley Brooks | Program Specialist
(213) 740‑8509 | brooksas@usc.edu

Ashley helps USC’s schools and programs increase diversity, create a more inclusive and supportive graduate culture, build new pathways to bring highly qualified underrepresented students to USC and support graduate students as they move toward their professional goals.

Alesia Calhoun
Administrative Manager
(213) 740‑9033 | calhoun@usc.edu

Alesia organizes and manages the day-to-day departmental administrative and operation functions for The Graduate School, Office of the Provost.

Geoffrey Chu | Programmer Analyst IV
(213) 740-7608 | chugeoff@usc.edu

Geoffrey designs, develops and implement software systems at the USC Graduate School.

Meredith Drake Reitan
Associate Dean of Graduate Fellowships
(213) 740‑9037
mereditd@usc.edu

Samuel Mantell
Editor
(213) 740-9033
smantell@usc.edu

Kamille Mosqueda |Project Specialist – Administrative
(213) 740‑8078 | kmosqued@usc.edu

Kamille Mosqueda is part of the IT/Data team at the Graduate School. His main responsibilities include managing external users of the various web applications hosted by the Graduate School; internally, he works with the engineering team tasked with developing and maintaining these web applications.

Kate Tegmeyer
Administrative Assistant II
(213) 740‑9037
tegmeyer@usc.edu

Laura Yoneda
Associate Dean
(213) 740‑9059
lyoneda@usc.edu


CENTER FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING 

Ginger Clark | Center for Excellence in Teaching Director
(213) 740‑3959 | ginger.clark@usc.edu

Ginger serves as a liaison between the Vice Provost’s office and the schools on policies and practices for RTPC faculty. She is also responsible for elevating the stature of teaching by leading efforts to develop incentive structures, criteria for excellence in teaching, and resources for faculty development in teaching.

Katherine Guevara
Instructional Designer
(213) 740‑8823 | fitzsimo@usc.edu

Katie supports faculty and programs through consultations, workshops, and resource creation that promote best practices in pedagogy and course design, and improve quality and effectiveness of instruction.

Ellen Nagamine
Office Manager
(213) 740‑3959 | enagamin@usc.edu

As office manager, Ellen supports CET’s instructional designers and department initiatives.

Ingrid Steiner
Instructional Designer
(213) 821-6048 | ingridst@usc.edu

Robert Sweeney | Instructional Designer
(213) 821‑6108 | rsweeney@usc.edu

Bob works with faculty and programs to improve the quality and effectiveness of instruction through collaboration on course design, pedagogical consultation, and workshops.

Last updated July 2019.